Election Information

The City Council consists of a Mayor and six Councilmembers. All positions are elected from the city at large, and have three year terms. Elections are held annually on the May Uniform Election date (first Saturday in May).

The qualifications for Mayor and Councilmembers are: must be on the date of the election at least 21 years of age; a citizen of the United States; a registered voter of the State of Texas; must reside and have resided for at least one year preceding the election at which he is a candidate within the corporate limits of Saginaw; must not be in arrears in the payment of any taxes due the city; and meet all other qualifications prescribed by Article 1.05 of the Texas Election Code and any amendment thereof.

The City of Saginaw is having a Special Election on Saturday, July 29 for the position of Mayor, Council Member Place 3 and Council Member Place 5.

Early Voting:

  • Dates/Times:
    • Wednesday, July 12 through Friday July 14 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • Saturday & Sunday July 15-16: CLOSED
    • Monday, July 17 through Saturday, July 22 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • Sunday, July 23: CLOSED
    • Monday, July 24 & Tuesday July 25 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • Location:  Saginaw Senior Center, 405 S. Belmont St. (map)

Election Day


  • Date:  Saturday, July 29, 2017
  • Time:  7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • Location:  Saginaw Fire Station One - Training Room, 404 S. Saginaw Blvd (map)


The following candidates will be listed on the ballot for election:

  • Mayor
    • Todd Flippo
  • Council Member Place 3:
    • Valerie Tankersley
  • Council Member Place 5: 
    • Coy Johnson
    • James Patterson
    • Cindy Bighorse
    • Amanda Key
For more information, check out the Tarrant County Elections web site at www.tarrantcounty.com or click here.